Interview: The Friday Night Boys

The+Friday+Night+BoysWhile on tour with All Time Low, Faye recently had the chance to sit down with The Friday Night Boys ahead of their debut UK performance in Newcastle. We got talking about their first time over, signing to Fueled By Ramen, how dangerous they are, squashed those Fueled By Gossip rumours, and even got a rendition of Five’s When The Lights Go Out.

Faye: Can you say your names and what you do in the band?
Andrew: I’m Andrew and I sing.
Robby: I’m Robby, I play bass.
Chris: I’m Chris, I play the drums.
Mike: I’m Mike, and I play guitar, we’re The Friday Night Boys.

Faye: For those in the UK who are unfamiliar, can you tell us a bit of history about The Friday Night Boys?
Andrew: Yeah, we all used to play in a bowling league, and we met on Friday nights, we were called The Friday Night Boys, but we were all playing in different bands at the time. Then our other bands broke up, we won the championship and then were like, “Hey, we should start a band!”
Robby: So, the band was born, we’re the four most raunchy, disrespectful, reckless, drunken, filthy Americans the country has ever seen and now for the first time ever we’re being unleashed to other countries, so they can experience the madness first hand.

Faye: And this first show is a Friday night!
Robby: There you go, we made sure it was that way, we were like, “We have to start on a Friday night, otherwise it’s going to suck.”
Andrew: We’re very excited.
Chris: I haven’t been overseas period.

Faye: How are you expecting your reaction to be? Do you know if you have many fans over here?
Andrew: I’m not really sure actually, I mean, I know we have some fans over here, but I don’t know how many have heard of us, hopefully, we’ll make a lot of new fans.
Chris: Yeah, there’s a good amount of girls outside that wanted a lot of hugs, so they at least know us a little bit.
Robby: Or they think we’re sexy, it’s fine.

Faye: How do you feel about all the venues on this tour being upgraded? Will you find it more intimidating and maybe would have preferred the smaller rooms for your first time over?
Andrew: It’s cool, on the first tours we did it’s always the bigger rooms, so we’re really excited.
Mike: I think we all prefer bigger shows, because, I’m not going to say it’s cooler, because when you get close to the crowd it’s awesome, but I don’t know, it’s awesome.
Chris: It’s kind of more overwhelming. It really just takes you back, the big production and everything, it just makes it really cool.

Faye: You’re signed by one of the biggest alternative labels around, Fueled By Ramen, how did that come about?
Andrew: Alex from All Time Low heard about our band and we’ve known him for year from the other bands we played in before, and he heard our songs and really liked it, and brought it to Fueled By Ramen and that’s how it happened.
Mike: We did an unsigned thing on MTV.
Andrew: Yeah, this big programme, Total Request Live, they had an unsigned segment and we performed on it, it was the first time we were on TV.

Faye: Andrew, weren’t you in My Favorite Highway? What happened there?
Andrew: Yeah, I used to play guitar.
Robby: How do you guys know that over here?! That’s crazy.
Andrew: I started The Friday Night Boys when I was in My Favorite Highway and I love those guys, but I love these dudes, they’re like my close friends, so…
Robby: My Favourite Highway wasn’t dangerous enough for Andrew Goldstein, that band’s like a stop sign. [laughs]

Faye: What do you think separates The Friday Night Boys from other bands in your genre?
Robby: We’re more dangerous.
Andrew: I feel like the songs are more relatable and I feel like they’re more catchy, and you can kind of remember the song after the first time you hear it.
Robby: So, basically, in short, our songs are better. [laughs] Often imitated, never duplicated.
Chris: I think we’re more laid back and people can latch onto our personalities.
Mike: Yeah, we don’t take ourselves seriously.
Andrew: Yeah, we don’t have a ‘rock star attitude’ at all, we’re very regular people

Faye: I understand some of you have degrees, that’s probably rare for musicians, do you think it’s important to have a good education as a back-up before diving straight into being in a band?
Andrew: It depends.
Mike: Yeah, unless you’re like an insane drummer… [insinuating Chris]
Robby: Yeah, unless you’re the best drummer ever, then it’s very important to have a good education.
Andrew: It is very important, I didn’t start this band until I was a junior in college, so I was already half way through it, so it didn’t take over and become a full time thing until I was about to graduate. It helps dealing with people and meeting new people, it definitely helps, but really depends on when you’re doing your band. All Time Low, for instance, they got signed right out of school, so there was really no point of them going to college because they had this big opportunity. Our opportunity came when we were done or nearly done with college.

Faye: What are your degrees in?
Robby: I have a degree in English and Theatre.
Andrew: Mine’s in Psychology.
Mike: And mine’s in Writing.

Faye: And you don’t have a degree, Chris?
Chris: Nope.
Mike: His is in being a badass!
Chris: I’ve got a street degree, a diploma in the battles of real life.

Faye: Are you familiar with online gossip groups like Fueled By Gossip, are you lurkers?
Robby: Sometimes, every once in a while, but not that often.
Andrew: I don’t really pay attention, but some of the stuff they have on there is entertaining. Someone usually tells me about something and I’ll go give it a read.
Robby: A lot of stuff we submit ourselves…
Chris: A lot of it is just trash, it doesn’t matter.
Mike: Not even just about us, but a lot of it just isn’t true about other bands too.
Robby: Yeah, we’ll find some faulty information on there, not specifically related to our band.
Chris: I did like the one about me wrestling a Tyrannosaurus rex, that was a good one.
Robby: That’s true, the site has something every now and again that’s true. They said I had a small dick one time, but that’s not true. That was so inappropriate, I can’t believe I just said that, I’m sorry.

Faye: From what I’ve read, they’re usually pretty positive about you guys, which isn’t really a common thing on there.
Chris: For the most part, from what I’ve heard, they’re not-too harsh on us.
Mike: I just think it’s because we’re generally not jerks.

Faye: Every time there’s a post about The Friday Night Boys, it’s always mentioned how you guys always take time out for your fans.
Andrew: Yeah, before and usually after the show, we stand outside and just talk to everyone.
Chris: To try and give everyone a fair amount of attention.
Andrew: Because if they come to see you, I think it’s the least you can do.
Mike: It’s flattering that people want to come see.

Faye: One rumour I read on Fueled By Gossip is that you have pact that you don’t shower on tour unless you all want to, is that true?
Mike: No, I think it’s just generally not showering very often. [laughs]
Andrew: When you’re on tour you don’t get to shower very often.
Chris: That’s not our fault, though!
Mike: We don’t have a formal “pact”.
Robby: It’s kind of unspoken.
Andrew: What usually happens is that they get up and get in the shower, and I’m usually too sleepy to go, so I usually end up not showering.
Robby: When my hair was longer, I didn’t shower as often, but no official pact.
Chris: We never sat down and went, “Ok, no showering…”
Mike: Let’s do it, let’s smell like shit, I don’t want to shower any more!
Robby: Who wants to go through all the hassle of drying off, anyway?
Mike: Yeah, let’s do it, let’s see who can smell the worst.

Faye: You recently shot a video for Stupid Love Letter, how was that?
Andrew: It was amazing, we worked with Stevo from Sum 41, he directed the video, and it takes place at a movie theatre, and it’s very funny, it’s going to be really cool. I don’t know when it’s going to be coming out yet, probably 2-3 weeks, maybe a little longer.
Mike: It’s from the soundtrack of this movie called When In Rome.
Andrew: Yeah, it comes out January 19th.

Faye: Didn’t you invite fans to the shoot?
Andrew: Yeah, the fans were extras, there was a few of them.
Robby: And now they’re paid people.
Mike: Yeah, and I think the actual actors and actresses didn’t even know who we were.
Andrew: It was fun, though, it’ll be a really good video.

Faye: I’ve heard people say that Permanent Heartbreak and Suicide Sunday would have been better single choices, was Stupid Love Letter just chosen for the next single because it’s going to be in the movie?
Chris: Yeah, it was chosen by the people who worked behind the movie, there’s like Disney representatives and stuff that find the music for all these movies, and they just chose that song out of all the songs we had.
Andrew: Yeah, we wanted it as a single but we weren’t sure when, but because it’s in the movie and goes along with the theme of the movie, it’s kind of a different way to go about it.
Mike: We always thought Suicide Sunday would be good for a single.
Chris: Yeah, that’s my personal favourite.

Faye: I saw in another interview that Andrew is a fan of S Club 7 and Five, I was surprised, I didn’t think they were that well known in America.
Andrew: Yeah, not really, they weren’t.
Robby: Didn’t S Club 7 have that show on Disney?
Andrew: Yeah, and Five was… [Andrew and Mike proceed to sing When The Lights Go Out by Five].

Faye: Are there any other British artists you’re fans of?
Robby: Bush.
Andrew: You Me At Six.
Chris: I really like Jay Sean.

Faye: So, what’s next for The Friday Night Boys after this tour?
Andrew: We go back to the US and we’re doing a full US tour with All Time Low, We The Kings and Hey Monday, from October 15th until December 7th, it’s going to be fun.
Robby: The only band we don’t know is We The Kings.
Andrew: I’ve met the singer once, but we’ve toured with Hey Monday before and we’ve toured with All Time Low before.
Chris: It’s going to be very fun, I’m really looking forward to it, it’ll be a great way to end the year.

Faye: Do you have any plans to come back to the UK?
Andrew: We’re not sure.
Chris: As soon as possible, and I’m going to Amsterdam next time, I must.
Andrew: This is only the first show of the tour, but hopefully very soon, and so far, we haven’t played yet [laughs] but everyone here is very nice.

Faye: Change the record, who should we be listening to?
Chris: The Dance Party, Runner Runner.
Andrew: The Summer Set, Stereo Skyline.
Robby: The Audition, if you haven’t already.
Mike: The Bigger Lights.
Robby: Artist Vs Poet.
Chris: Passion Pit.
Robby: And Bobby Faithful, first and foremost.

Faye: I think that’s about it, is there anything else you want to say?
Robby: We’re so excited.
Andrew: Yeah, we’re really excited to be here, and thank you very very much.
Chris: I really have to pee now, but this was the best interview ever, thank you.

Faye Turnbull.

Many thanks to The Friday Night Boys, for tour dates and more information visit: www.myspace.com/thefridaynightboys

The album Off The Deep End by The Friday Night Boys is out now on Fueled By Ramen.

Leave a Reply

